Thigh Hair

by Lynn

Along with the struggle of balancing career and family, young ambitious women deal with daily female chores like primping oneself.  I was raised that the hair on my legs, arm pits, and everywhere is fine.  It could be my mother’s conventional and/or foreign values, but as an insecure (and somewhat rebellious) teenager, I didn’t buy into it.  I did believe that waxing was superior to shaving, so I began waxing my legs.  My high pain tolerance and laziness made waxing the perfect fit for my lifestyle.  For convenience purposes such as while I’m traveling, I will break out the razor.  Recently, I have tired the Epilator, however, it simply cut my hair instead of removing it from the rooms.

Until college, I didn’t realize women are actually expected to shave up their thigh.  My friends can attest to the fact that my Asian hair is very fine, soft, and barely noticeable unless your face is right up next to it.  I know how lucky I am, and I am very grateful.  Thus, I wanted to see what it is that other women have to suffer when removing thigh hair.

I took my wax kit (you can find this at your local pharmacy or Wal-Mart) and waxed my thighs.  Outcome: smoother thighs – duh.  It was painless and not nearly as messy or time consuming as I imagined.  At the same time, it was a waste of wax and ultimately unnecessary for me.  Also, are we supposed to wax the back of our thighs?  If so, then I obviously did not.  Can’t wait to laser my legs!

