Lean with It

by Lynn

The key to riding on the back of a Japanese motorcycle: lean with it.

I understand this sounds counterintuitive, but it’s the truth.  Besides trusting the driver with your life, you need to understand that when s/he leans, you need too  to.  Not too much as to throw the entire bike off balance, just enough to be helping with the turn.  As a passenger, you need to do some work other than just looking pretty.

Image

 

Photo credit: Elizabeth Kakouris

My overall thought: the faster the better.  For those who ride jet skis, you know what I’m talking about.  It’s almost the same feeling with the bike except on land.  The thrill of a jet ski comes from either going against waves or going faster.  The thrill of a bike ride comes from either leaning or going faster. Since I don’t need anymore scars, I prefer the latter.  Also, the hardest part (as you can tell) was dismounting!

