$11.20 for Gas, Metro or Charity?

by Lynn

As I’m putting away clothing in bags to donate, I thought about selling a few items.  Instead of posting on eBay I went to the local Plato’s Closet.

Ok, I know fashion is supposed to depreciate in value significantly because of trends and usage, but I had a nice reality check when I was offered a total of $11.20 for a dress from BCBG Paris (left), Urban Outfitters (right), and a top from Burlington Coat (I know strange purchase from CT).

Good thing I’ve grown tired of the items and got them each on sale; otherwise, I’m sure I wouldn’t have sold them or been completely heartbroken.

For those looking for a few affordable purchases, I’d recommend going to Plato’s Closet for an initial attempt.  I did try on reptile pink/red Bandolino heels that were only $12?!?!?  If I actually needed more closed toe pumps, I would have bought them.  Lucky for me, I’m not in the market for shoes.  I also did see a couple of company names besides the “teen” (Abercrombie, Hollister, etc.) stores that they buy from.

So what can I get for $11.20?  About 3.5 gallons of gas, a roundtrip metro ride with parking, or a sense of selflessness by donating to a friend’s recent plea to save a library for Boston’s underprivileged children.

I’ll opt for donating to the library cause because I’m using a library this very moment!  If you’d like to learn more about how to save a school library from closing or donate, visit the project page herehttp://www.donorschoose.org/project/books-for-bostons-brightest/823473/.

