Petite Pear

by Lynn

Buying jeans as a woman can either be a nightmare or a joy.  When I was younger I lived in jeans, near the end of high school I started to detest searching for the “right” jean.  It got so bad that for a period in college I refused to wear jeans, and for the past 3 years I refused to purchase a single pair of jeans.  It’s not that I dislike them; my tastes and preferences started to change, plus my body started to develop in ways that made jean shopping tiresome.

Back in the day, my mom dressed me in Unionbay and other affordable lines, then progressed to American Eagle and cumulated to me paying a good chuck of change (even with my friend’s discount) for two pairs of Lucky jeans.  As many know, jeans can range from $10 to over $500.  Surprisingly, Google searches were not the best for “are expensive jeans worth it?”  Thus, I have found a few links and tips to let help guide you in your jean search.

Keep the following in mind:

–          You should only wash jeans after every 5-7 wears (unless it’s completely soiled)

–          Women often own more jeans than they actually wear

–          Buy jeans one size smaller than a regular fit

–          Skinny (or too tight) jeans could cause nerve damage

–          If your jeans are 3 years old, re-evaluate their fit because of the wear and change in your own body shape

–          Don’t necessarily buy according to trends, instead find the fit that flatters you

–          You pay for quality (for the most part)

Most of those suggestions are also endorsed by consumer report.  There’s a general chart that consumer report released as well.  You probably guessed it already, but the pricing depends on everything from the brand marketing, “accessories”, stitching, etc.

If you’d like the opinion of a blogger about her comprehensive experiences with a variety of brands, look here.  Here’s another good article on quality and the respective prices.  Finally, there’s a checklist that you can use to judge whether or not you believe you’re getting what you’re paying for.

Part of shopping for jeans is learning to recognize and accept your body type, which is often very difficult for women.  Currently, my figure has turned into a petite pear.  Whether I want it to be this shape or not, I realize that skinny jeans are not the most flattering.  Instead I should probably go for something with more of a boot.  Still after two days of shopping at the mall, I’m not 100% satisfied with my purchase (for many reasons and might return), so the jean journey continues.  Hopefully, this helps you better understand jeans as you search!

